Articles on: Advanced Questions

What do the different categories of backlinks mean?

The different categories of backlinks and their description are as follows:

Followed - These are links that are followed and are passing on link juice. Google will consider these links for SEO.
Not Followed - These are links with the nofollow attribute like <a href=””rel=”nofollow”>Google</a>. Google will not consider them for SEO.
Disavowed - These are links that you provide to Google so they can stop considering them for your site’s SEO. You tag such bad links on Monitor Backlinks as Disavow and later on generate a report and submit to Google. For example, if you got some links from spam sites and you think they might affect your rankings, you should disavow the links. However, this is a feature that you should use with caution, only if you know what you are doing.

Updated on: 24/08/2019

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback


Thank you!